Psalms 91 – God’s Warrior Prayer

1
You who dwell in the shelter of the Most High,*
who abide in the shade of the Almighty,*
2
Say to the LORD, “My refuge and fortress,
my God in whom I trust.”a
3
He will rescue you from the fowler’s snare,
from the destroying plague,
4
He will shelter you with his pinions,
and under his wings you may take refuge;b
his faithfulness is a protecting shield.
5
You shall not fear the terror of the night
nor the arrow that flies by day,c
6
Nor the pestilence that roams in darkness,
nor the plague that ravages at noon.d
7
Though a thousand fall at your side,
ten thousand at your right hand,
near you it shall not come.
8
You need simply watch;
the punishment of the wicked you will see.e
9
Because you have the LORD for your refuge
and have made the Most High your stronghold,
10
No evil shall befall you,
no affliction come near your tent.f
11
*For he commands his angels with regard to you,g
to guard you wherever you go.h
12
With their hands they shall support you,
lest you strike your foot against a stone.i
13
You can tread upon the asp and the viper,
trample the lion and the dragon.j
II
14
Because he clings to me I will deliver him;
because he knows my name I will set him on high.k
15
He will call upon me and I will answer;l
I will be with him in distress;m
I will deliver him and give him honor.
16
With length of days I will satisfy him,
and fill him with my saving power.n

Leave a Reply

