Jerry Patterson decides he has better things to do

ax087_2cca_91

If I filed for Texas Railroad Commissioner, I would be the immediate front runner. In a brief two month campaign, that initial lead would be difficult to overcome, although a runoff election is possible.

This past weekend I was camping in the rain with my 11 year old son and his Boy Scout troop. I was again reminded that time spent with Cole, and his twin sister Samantha, as well as my grandchildren Waylon and Marin, is truly the highest and best use of my time at this point in my life.

I also believe a nominee of the Republican party should be able to enthusiastically support all other Republican nominees. With the possible if not probable nomination of Donald Trump for President by my party, I could not do that. Telling Trump supporters that they should vote for Jerry Patterson while simultaneously opining that anybody who votes for Trump is an idiot is not a good formula for success, particularly in a runoff campaign if “The Donald” has prevailed in the March 1st primary.

I’ve had my turn. I’ve been blessed to serve my country for 24 years in the U.S. Marine Corps, and to serve my state for 18 years as a state senator and land commissioner. I’m proud of what I and those who worked for me and with me have accomplished. I like what I’m doing now. I will not be running for Texas Railroad Commissioner.

Semper Fi and God Bless Texas

Jerry Patterson

One thought on “Jerry Patterson decides he has better things to do

Leave a Reply

